Venturing in Vitamix

I fell for it.

A couple months ago, we got a little bit of extra money and wound up at Costco hungry. Don’t ever go to Costco hungry.  The annoying demo salesperson of the day was a rep from Vitamix.  Not one to pass up on free samples, we had some sorbet sweetened with agave. It had frozen berries and bananas, so The Beard was thoroughly satisfied. As for me? I was left a little skeptic. And if you know me, this is when the rapid fire questions begin…

“Why pay this much for a Vitamix when my Oster is doing just fine for $40?”
“What makes this better than a BlendTec or a Ninja or any other blender out there?”
“What’s the warranty include?”
“Where is it made? What parts come from China?”

I’m a huge advocate for healthy lifestyle changes. But when the lifestyle change is $500, I have to step back and consider every single detail.  Mr. Demo-man sold me because not only did he woo our taste buds, but he helped me check off everything on my list of requirements for kitchen appliances. It also helped that at least two customers, not paid by Vitamix, came up during the demo, gauged my apprehension, and told me personally that it’s the best thing they every bought. One father of four has had his for 15 years and still makes his kids spinach smoothies on a regular basis. His younger son nodded his head in delight. Oh, to be a crunchy parent with children willing to eat greens! My dream!

After reeling back from picturing my future with a simple machine, my last question was “What color do you have?” And I made the best purchase that night.

I call him Vinny, the 6300. A la your typical gym rat meathead who can pack a punch and take orders from the boss (me):

6300-black-rglam

We got him in platinum and it’s been a dream ever since. So I may have fell for the blender trend, but to be honest, I like having a machine that can make yummy soups AND ice cream that’s healthy and tasty enough for The Beard and myself.

Instead of boring you with all the healthy things pulverized veggies can do for you, I thought I’d share a yummy breakfast/post-workout recipe that tastes like a peanut butter milkshake. I’ll be sure to share recipes of other concoctions in the future as well!

Booty Werk Shake (Thanks, T-Pain)
– 1 Cup coconut milk. So Delicious is my favorite brand and Costco sells them in sets of six!
– 1 TBS peanut butter
– 1 tsp natural unsweetened cocoa powder
– 1 banana
– 1 scoop of Nutrition 53 Lean 1 protein powder. Groupon find for the win!*
– 2 handfuls of spinach
– 1 handful of ice for a cold slushy texture

*Some of you health nuts might cringe at ADDING protein powder to this mess, but a scoop of this lean stuff is just enough to give me the boost I need with doing T25 everyday. I also can’t waste a scoop by adding it to lame ol’ water!

Leave a Reply

